Not-So-Wordless Wednesday – Pay-dirt!

To learn more about the Not-So-Wordless Wednesday Challenge, please click here.

Over the last week I have been on a quest to find information about one of David’s uncles that was killed in a duel way back in 1840. I only had his father’s name, the name of the town, and an estimated date range to go by.  I have been looking through old newspapers via Newspapers.com, but was having no luck as I didn’t know the name of the boy. So, I did a web search that landed me on someone’s Geni website for Daniel Bird.  This site led me to Daniel Bird’s Find-a-Grave listing.   This listing gave me the names of his three wives and the cemeteries at which the wives are buried. Two are buried in the same cemetery in the general area of Monticello, Florida, and the other one is buried in Edgefield, SC.  The one buried in Edgefield, Lucinda, is buried beside her son – Thomas Butler Bird, who died in 1840, well within my estimated time frame of 1835-1848.  His Find-a-Grave listing shows that he was murdered.  This upped the chances of it being the right boy.  I did a search on the name Thomas Butler Bird and I hit pay dirt.   Here is one of the articles discussing the tragedy.

Thomas Bird, Duel, Preston Brooks, Col Wigfall, Col Carrol, Edgefield County CourthouseMy search yielded other information as well.  This site, Florida Plantations, shows a picture of one of the plantations owned in Florida by Thomas’s father, Daniel Bird.  The name of this plantation is Nacoosa.  This photo was taken in the early 1900s, long after Daniel Bird’s death in 1867, and appears to be in a state of disrepair.  But isn’t it still beautiful? I hope that someone came along to give that home the love that it needed and didn’t let it just fall to the ground. That will be the subject of another round of research for me.

Bird_Daniel_Nacoosa_Plantation_rc11359

Nacoosa, One of three plantation homes owned by Daniel Butler Bird, Early 1900s

It has been a very exciting and productive week and a half in regards to research and this makes me very happy!

Curious-as-a-Cathy_not-soWW3_Fotor

Please see David’s post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

Photo Citation:

People at the Nacoosa Plantation – Jefferson County, Florida. 19–. Black & white photoprint. State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory. Accessed 31 Aug. 2016. <https://www.floridamemory.com/items/show/33886>.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Family History, Not-So-Wordless Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Not-So-Wordless Wednesday – Pay-dirt!

  1. chmjr2 says:

    Great research which resulted in confirming and learning the details of a family story. I can imagine the excitement of your find.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    I think this was a really cool find.

    Like

  3. Rorybore says:

    An actual duel?!! Wow. Hard to believe that was once a thing, but your hard work sure did pay off. And I do so hope someone has come along and given that beautiful home some TLC.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep, an actual duel. What frustrates David and me both about it is that this young man wouldn’t be dead if Wigfall had just waited for Preston Brooks to get home rather than calling out Preston’s daddy, who was likely an old man at the time (old for the times, anyway). Almost 200 years later, and it still boils our blood thinking that. I think Wigfall proved himself to be the coward by not waiting for Preston to get home.

      I haven’t been able to find out anymore about the house, if it ever got restored, knocked down, or anything, but I will definitely post it if I do.

      Have a great weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

