Friendly Fill-Ins – 19 August 2016

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_BadgeHere are the fill-in-the-blanks:
1. When I run out of ___________________, I use ___________________ instead.
2. My guru is _______________.
3. I am afraid of ______________________.
4. I feel empowered ________________________

Here are my responses:
1. When I run out of words, I use music to voice my feelings instead.

2. My guru is….I have no idea. I don’t think that I really have a guru for anything these days. When I was a kid, I guess my Uncle Bobby would have been my guru of sorts. He was a preacher and did his best to guide me in the right direction. My grandparents and my Aunt Mae did what they could to be my spiritual guides, too. They taught me much. Uncle Bobby is a thousand miles away at this point and my grandparents are in Heaven now. The Bible is my guide these days, as well as friends that are more versed in the Bible than I am.

3. I am afraid of being deserted, unneeded, and being tossed into a corner like I’m nothing like folks did to my grandma when she was nearing the end of her battle with Alzheimer’s. Someone even had the nerve to tell me that I didn’t have to talk to her, that she didn’t know anything anyway. That still angers me to this day and scares me thinking that someday someone is going to think about me and treat me the same way. I am afraid of the way that Death will come for me, though I am not afraid of dying.

4. I feel empowered…I don’t really feel empowered by or about anything at this very moment. I am actually feeling kind of weak and hopelessly lost, not knowing which way to turn.

Please read David’s post over at Random Thoughts and Observations. Thanks!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins – 19 August 2016

  1. Suzanne, it’s sad how Alzheimer takes those we love before death. Years ago, I don’t think people had the knowledge to understand that even though they do not know who you are, but being surrounded by those who love them help the patient as well as the family members. Alzheimers is something I worry about and hope neither DH or I get when we get old. There are days when I don’t feel very empowered, too. If you’re feeling lost today, then hop over for a little music with my featured artist on Saturday Songsuasion. Have a songsational day, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Cathy. I agree. It is very sad to see them be taken like that. Grandma was brilliant, though. Even fully into the grips of Alzheimer’s she could get all the questions right on Jeopardy. 🙂 I worry about getting it, too. I hope that you and your husband and me and mine never get it, though sometimes I feel like this journey has already started for me.

      What do you think that we can do to feel empowered when we aren’t feeling it?

      Thanks for the Songsuasion invitation. 🙂 Have a blessed day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. yvonne473 says:

    I couldn’t come up with anything for #2 or #4. I don’t really have a guru either and I don’t feel empowered about anything.

    That’s sad about what happened to your grandmother.

    I hope you have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Yes, it was very sad about my grandma. She was so sweet and treated so badly. If I could have brought her home to live with me, I would have. But I couldn’t fight them. They ended up putting her in a nursing home on her 76th birthday. She was probably safer there, but she died there 16 days later.

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. Have a blessed week. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

