August Happiness Challenge – Day 18

The “August Happiness Challenge” is hosted by Sam over at One Gal’s Musings.  Run on over to her place to learn all about it!

32055-august_happiness_challenge_400

Today is the 35th anniversary of my first real date. I say first “real” date because I had gone to see Buck Rogers with a boy in 8th grade, but that was like going to see a movie with my little brother. It wasn’t David’s first real date, but it was our first date. We went to see the movie “Endless Love”, which, looking back, was not the best choice of movies for a first date, but it did give us our theme song.

This date was on my 16th birthday. By this time, I already had some pretty definite ideas on how parts of my life were going to go. My mother had neglected to tell me the dos and don’ts of first date conversation. I have a healthy (or maybe unhealthy) dose of my granny in me and sometimes just get to the point. So, here is this 19 year old boy being told by a 16 year old girl that the name of her firstborn son was going to be “Julius Jared Pressley”, surname yet to be determined.

Mama should have told me that you don’t discuss babies with boys right off the bat, that for most boys, this was a loud and clear red flag saying “RUN!!! Do not pass go. Do not collect $200. Do not stop by the bathroom or the popcorn stand. Get out NOW!”

He must not have had the first date conversation with his daddy either, because that boy didn’t run. He stuck around and we had popcorn and watched the rest of the movie.

And, just short of five years later, Jared Pressley McClendon was born.

The rest, as they say, is history.

 

Please read David’s August Happiness Challenge post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

Please also visit our hostess Sam over at One Gal’s Musings.

Thanks!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in August Happiness Challenge, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August Happiness Challenge – Day 18

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Can I finish my popcorn first?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

