Throwback Thursday – 11 August 2016

To learn more about this challenge, please click here.

Frank_and_Mary_Blecha

Frank J. and Mary Wenzel Blecha

Frank and Mary Blecha are David’s 2nd great-grandparents through his maternal grandmother’s mother.  They are the most recent immigrant ancestors in our family, arriving in the United States at some point between 1851 and 1873. Frank was born in Austria in 1851 and Mary in Austria in 1854.  They were married in Seneca, Kansas on 9 February 1873.  Mary died in 1929 and Frank in 1945. Both are buried in Kansas, but not in the same cemetery, no even the same county, which I find very sad. I think that they look like a very sweet couple.

Please be sure to visit David over at Random Thoughts and Observations. Thanks!

Canon_AE1_Program_6865_Throwback_web_250

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Family Photographs, Photography, Throwback Thursday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Throwback Thursday – 11 August 2016

  1. Aw that is sad about not being buried in the same cemetery. Thank you for posting this…smiles

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it is very sad when a husband and wife are not buried together. The same thing happened with one set of my paternal great-grandparents. Annie (the one PS Annie! is named for) is buried in South Carolina and her husband Andy is buried at a little church in Georgia. He died a very long time before she did. I assume that when she died, the church cemetery where he was had no more space. Maybe they didn’t move him and the 4 babies because it would cost too much. I don’t know. I just wish they could have all been buried at the same place. They are back together now in Heaven.

      You’re welcome, Linda, and thank you for commenting. Have a beautiful day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was interesting! I think it was sadly, fairly common back then for couples to end up buried in different places, especially if there was a length of time between their deaths. Transportation then is not what it is now, and often the surviving family member moved to live with children or remarried if younger. My husband’s parents are both buried in this city, but not in the same cemetery. His grandparents are buried in two different states. My grandparents and parents are buried with their spouses. We are going to simplify it by being cremated and having our ashes scattered. We will be together in Heaven so the rest is just an earthly body left behind.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Josie. 🙂
      I know there are a couple of cases in our family tree where the husband and the wife were buried in different countries. One such couple that comes to mind, the wife is buried in England, where they were from, and he is buried here in the US, but I can’t remember where at the moment. She died very young, and if I remember correctly, he remarried here.
      Both sets of my grandparents are buried together in South Carolina. My daddy was sprinkled across the graves of his parents and brother. There is a marker there for my mama and daddy (mama is still alive, though). David’s daddy is buried in South Carolina and his mama will be buried here in Texas. Both sets of David’s grandparents are buried together, too. One set is in SC and one set here in TX. I’m glad that your parents and grandparents are together.
      I can’t remember if you have children or not, but if you do, have you talked with them about their feelings about you being cremated? What do they think of it?
      I can’t stand the thought of what was done to my daddy. Where do you want to be scattered? In a cemetery or somewhere more scenic?
      Have a blessed day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

