Reflecting on a Month of Beautiful Filipino Words

62c3b-dmcjr_butterfly

Butterfly on Davey’s Finger,  @2004-2016 Suzanne G. McClendon

This month was quite an adventure! For thirty days, we were blessed with beautiful words from the Filipino language. We were challenged to share what these words meant to us through our writing, poetry, photography, art…however we chose to express it.

My favorite word out of the entire list of thirty was “tinatangi“. It means “special someone”. The word just feels beautiful and brought to mind the special someones that have graced my life. The saddest word on the list for me was “pahimakas“.  It means “last farewell” and brought tears to my heart as I thought of my daddy.

It was a challenge to create a post for every day of the month, respond to comments on the two blogs where I posted, as well as comment on the posts of others. It was a challenge, but it was exciting. I knew the days wouldn’t be boring. I often wondered if I would make it through the month, but couldn’t imagine it ending either.

Now, it has ended and August is fast upon us.

Thank you to Rosema for hosting this challenge and to all of you that made this journey with us.

Have a blessed day!

 

Please be sure to visit David over at Random Thoughts and Observations. Thanks!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Reflection, WordHighJuly, Writing Challenges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Reflecting on a Month of Beautiful Filipino Words

  1. So… is there a new meme this coming month? (smiling) –I enjoyed reading this past month and the beautiful words. Have a lovely SONday friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosemawrites says:

    oh wow. Thank you very very much, Suz! Your presence and your openness has been a great part of this challenge. You are part of its success. You and Davy. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

