Friendly Fill-Ins 29 July 2016

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_Badge1. One quirk I have is ___________________.
2. My favorite comic strip is ________________________.
3. I am really happy ________________________.
4. If I could go anywhere on a road trip, I would go to _______________.

One quirk I have is that I like for things to be even and front-faced. I used to be a merchandiser and can’t stand to see items on retail shelves all whompy. I like all the labels forward and everything straight on the shelf, not some things forwards and some things backwards, or some near the edge and others way back at the back. Walmart really irks my Monk side!

My favorite comic strip is….whatever comic strip David is reading to me at the time. I don’t really have a specific favorite anymore. I think the Pluggers comics that he reads to me are very relevant to our situation/condition these days.

I am really happy when I make new discoveries on our family trees, like I did recently on David’s side of the family. His mama and daddy share a set of 6th great-grandparents in the Morgan line of the family tree. I made a post about that here: Morgan Connections.

I am also really happy when a picture that I take comes out great. It doesn’t happen too often anymore, but I am very happy when it does. Sometimes I am even happy with the photos that are technically mistakes. A spring photo of lantana in our backyard was technically overexposed, but I think it makes a great abstract art piece. We had it put onto a canvas.  Here is a photo of the canvas.

Lantana_Canvas_ArtstoFrame

Lantana Abstract, ©2016 Suzanne G. McClendon

If I could go anywhere on a road trip, I would go to South Carolina. In addition to being able to visit graves that have been filled since we left South Carolina in 2004, I would visit those that I didn’t know about before we left, too. I’ve found the location of more of them since we left South Carolina than I did while we were IN South Carolina! But, even more importantly, I would want to go visit David’s Aunt Gloria. She is the last surviving member of David’s daddy’s birth family and she has recently been diagnosed with breast cancer. I would love to be able to visit with her and let her know how much she is loved. I don’t think that she realizes just how much. Please keep her in your prayers.

Please be sure to read David’s Friendly Fill-Ins post over at Random Thoughts and Observations. Thanks!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins, Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins 29 July 2016

  1. I share your love of the merchandise issue…it drives me nuts and often I have to straighten shelves out–even at stores…drives my husband nuts. lol

    Have a beautiful day, friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Annie says:

    I used to volunteer at a library years ago and I still can’t stand when books on shelves aren’t even. 🙂 I’m sorry about your aunt Gloria.

    A picture coming out well is always a happy surprise for me as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

