Friendly Fill-Ins

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_BadgeFriendly Fill-Ins Week 11

1. I wish I could afford to hire someone to _________________________.

I wish I could afford to hire someone to go buy our groceries for us so that we didn’t have to leave the house in this heat!

2. Zucchini ____________________________________________.

Zucchini is a big part of my favorite vegetable blend, which is called Normandy blend. It has zucchini, yellow squash, broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots. It is great! It would be even better if I could successfully grow these vegetables myself rather than having to buy them from a store.

A_23-January-2015_24513. One Summertime memory I recall is________ .

When I was a kid, I lived outside and was almost always barefooted. There was a huge pine tree in the side yard. I was running around the tree and stepped onto a rusty nail that went into my foot, probably about an inch deep. I remember crying and pulling it out of my foot. I imagine I was taken for a tetanus shot. It seems that having fun almost always ended with a needle on the other side of it…or stitches. I was good at finding those, too.

 

4. This Summer, _____________.
This summer, I want it to be winter. It is too hot out there. Have I whined enough yet about the heat?

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. I.A.M. SO. READY. FOR. SUMMER. (and yes, its capitalized and with punctuation, giggling) Have a great day. smiles

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WINTER!!!!! SEE, brain fried from the heat!!!! LOLOLOLOLOL

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Suzanne, I ran barefoot all summer long and it wouldn’t be summer, if I didn’t step on a bubble bee or two each season. I also got some nasty injuries like picking up a nail every few summers, cutting my feet on broken glass, or stubbing my big toe so hard it pulled the nail off. As liberating as it feels to not wear shoes, it’s better to keep your feet protect. Unfortunately, we didn’t have that luxury with feet that grew too fast and not enough money. The good news is I never had to worry with not having proper foot wear in the cooler months. I like various squash and zucchini, but rarely buy either. Thanks for popping over for a quick visit, as it turned out we decided to not go out today because I’m dealing with some sensitivity in my lower back related to my intestinal problems. It feels better this morning over last night, so I’m on the mend. Have a funtastic weekend!

    Stupidy #humor #celebrate #fridayfillins

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you’re feeling better today than you did last night. Sorry for the discomfort last night. 😦
      We grew like weeds, too. Hand-me-downs were what kept us going many times. I don’t know that I’ve ever stepped on a bumble bee, but I have been mosquito bait all my life. I’ve been stung by a wasp once and it about knocked me down. It was like getting punched in the back by a strong man. A yellow jacket got me once, too, but oddly enough, that tickled. It didn’t hurt.
      Barefooted was fun, but I agree that wearing shoes or sandals is a safer way to live. I never go outside barefooted anymore. You mentioned broken glass. Boy, do I have a story on that one. I nearly cut my toe off one day at my Aunt Charlotte’s house. My brother had thrown a Coke bottle out of our playing area and it hit the corner of the garage and landed behind the glider. Well, when the ball got hit over there, I ran to get the ball, forgetting all about the bottle breaking there. It took about half a second for me to remember! I stepped on the pointy, jagged edge and blood went everywhere. I bloodied up my aunt’s house but good trying to find my mama. I got 4 stitches. All these years later, that big toe is still sensitive and tickly.
      We don’t buy those veggies very often either, but I sure love them. Thanks for stopping by here and commenting. I appreciate it very much. Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

