Word-High July: Pagsamo

Please visit here to learn more about this 30-day challenge.

july-9

I can only think right now of one time in my life that involved pleading. I begged Heavenly Father for my baby. Her name was Dorian. She would be 23 years old this month.

Our Arms That Day
Now I come to you,
With empty arms,
Our baby’s all gone,
I feel so alone.

They took her from me,
From my waiting arms,
To go back to Heaven
Instead of our home.

The angels wait for her,
With open arms,
They welcome her back,
Oh God! Please take me on!

You reach out to me,
With loving arms,
And hold me so close,
Show me I’m not alone.

With tears in your eyes,
And me in your arms,
We let her go,
But we are not alone.

©17 January 1998 Suzanne Gunter McClendon.
This poem was written in memory of our daughter Dorian, stillborn at 20 weeks on 15 July 1993.

Please be sure to visit David’s blog at Random Thoughts and Observations.

Please also visit our hostess Rosema over at Word-High July.

Disclaimer: These Filipino word images are from an article by Isabelle Laureta on BuzzFeed titled “36 Of The Most Beautiful Words In The Philippine Language”. All credit goes to them.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in WordHighJuly, Writing Challenges and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Word-High July: Pagsamo

  1. rosemawrites says:

    Oh, Suz. 😦 😦 😦
    *shedding tears*
    words will never be enough to tell you how touched i am to read this beautiful and heartwarming piece. it’s a tough chapter of your life and surely time will not be able to heal it. but surely He is in a better place. ❤
    love to you, my friend. ❤

    Liked by 3 people

    • celticmama36 says:

      Thank you, Rosema. {{{Hugs}}} Yes, she is in a much better place and with so many loved ones that went to Heaven before her. Love to you, too, my friend. Have a blessed weekend.

      Like

  2. {{{{SUZANNE}}} sending much love to you…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nashrah says:

    I’m sorry for your loss 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. maria says:

    Oh dear, oh dear… The raw emotions this beautiful and heartfelt piece left… I’m speechless. 😭❤️ I agree, is in a much better place up in heaven.

    Sending smiles and hugs your way, Suzzane. 😘💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

