Word-High July: Silakbo

Please visit here to learn more about this 30-day challenge.

july-8

 

If something upsetting happens in your life, how do you respond? Are you calm, cool, and collected or do you blow your top like Mt. Vesuvius and cover everyone around you like those poor folks in Pompeii? Do you cry at the drop of a hat?

Try as I might, I very rarely fall into the first group mentioned. I am a quick-tempered and extremely sensitive person. This has always been me. Tears come easily and feelings run deep. Unlike others, I can’t just drop them or let them go. I have to wrestle with them for awhile, come to grips with them. I want to be able to be calm and not so easily upset, but it just doesn’t seem meant to be. I have had some extremely emotional outbursts in my life in response to deep hurt. I hope to never get to that level of upset again.

How do you handle upsetting things, especially those that come at you from out of the blue? Are you able to just let it go, or do the tears fly or anger rage?

Have a blessed day!

Please be sure to visit David’s post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

Please also visit our hostess Rosema over at Word-High July.

Disclaimer: These Filipino word images are from an article by Isabelle Laureta on BuzzFeed titled “36 Of The Most Beautiful Words In The Philippine Language”. All credit goes to them.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in WordHighJuly, Writing Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Word-High July: Silakbo

  1. Davy D says:

    True words Suzanne. I have learned to take a deep breath and step away when I feel the volcano brewing. Its taken a long time, but I think age lessens the boil. Enjoy your day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a short fuse…it has to be the Yugoslavian blood…it has to be, wink. I have learned thru the years to control it…but I have to say, all that is going on in the world, my fuse is about lit and about ready to just explode…just keeping it real…we are enjoying your posts, Suzanne. My son goes, “All those big words!” (lol)—keeping you in prayer, sweet new friend. smiles

    Liked by 1 person

    • celticmama36 says:

      Everything about me is short, I think. 🙂

      Yugoslavian for you and Irish, Scottish, Cherokee, and German for me. 🙂

      The things going on in this world these days, I think, are enough to make anybody explode. When we do, it’s going to be a big mess.

      Thank you. I’m glad you’re enjoying my posts. 🙂 Thank you also for the prayers. You and your family are in mine, too, my friend. 🙂 Have a blessed day and a great weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • OH, I am short…5’0 and pleasantly plump as I like to call it (smiles)–I take after my paternal grandmother. My husband said to tell you, I forgot one thing, he is 1/8 Apache. (that goes along with the Irish/Scot) –however, he has a diff. personality than me, he “will talk to a tree”, that’s the ongoing joke for 35 years-27 of those married. lol–I’m more reserved. HAVE A BEAUTIFUL DAY, friend.

        Liked by 1 person

        • celticmama36 says:

          I win; I’m shorter. 🙂 If my last measurement was correct, I have dropped from 4’10.75″ down to 4’9″. I am not happy about that 1. because I was short enough already and 2. shrinking is a sign of osteoporosis. I am painfully shy and introverted, but I find it easier sometimes to talk to someone that I’ve never met before than to people that I’ve known for 30 years. I guess I’m a weirdo. I hope you have a beautiful day, too. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • lol—I am very shy and introverted and prefer to be a wallflower (just stick me in a library, and all is fine, lol)—I have never mastered the art of being polticially correct. Now, my husband…that is another story; “Mr. Talk to a tree.” smiles

            Liked by 1 person

          • celticmama36 says:

            Ok, I’m having one of my “not bright” moments. Please explain to me what you mean by “talk to a tree”. Do you mean he’ll talk to pretty much anybody? David and I don’t like all the political correctness either. Being polite and well-mannered is one thing, but some of this PC biz is just ridiculous.
            I think a library is a great place to be…or to have! I would love to have a room with floor-to-ceiling shelves filled with books. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • yep…my David will start up a conversation with anyone—while at the store the other day, we were standing in line and he started talking to the man behind us (because he had a Bernie Sanders t shirt on)…my husband has t his natural tendency to make people like him…weird…yes, the pc business is out of hand, just saying….smiles

            Liked by 1 person

          • celticmama36 says:

            My David can talk to just about anybody, too. Our oldest daughter never meets a stranger, either. 🙂

            Like

  3. maria says:

    Ooh… I feel you, Suzzane! I’m like this a lot too. My friends even describe me as “petulant” which I wholeheartedly accepted. I’m just glad that they’re awesome friends who love me for what a crazy person I am. 😊

    Have a blessed weekend! ☺️☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. chesca says:

    I usually collect all my anger, and burst when the dump’s too high! I really believe that people who often have emotional outbursts are the most caring ones, Suzzane. Have a nice weekend ! ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    • celticmama36 says:

      Thank you, Chesca. 🙂 I try to hold it in sometimes, but it doesn’t always work. My mama always said I was extremely sensitive, tender-hearted. Everything makes me cry, especially these days. It is who I am, but it isn’t easy to feel so deeply.
      When you get to the point of bursting, does it blow over quickly or hang on for awhile?

      Have a nice weekend, too. Thank you. 🙂

      Like

  5. rosemawrites says:

    so now our common denominator are not just shrimp and cheesecake, Suz. I am short-tempered and sensitive woman, too. ❤ But I am praying for longer patience because i might be crazy if i let someone else's anger become mine too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • celticmama36 says:

      Oh no, no, no, no! Never, ever pray for patience! When you pray for patience, you get it through the fire, so to speak. Pray not to be angry and things like that, but never pray for patience. You get it the hard way, my friend. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

