Cee’s Share Your World Challenge

For more information about this challenge, please visit: Cee’s Share Your World

Cees_Share-Your-World_041514-sywbanner

With your answers, please remember we are in the SYW world which may not always match our reality.
What’s your most memorable (good or bad) airplane flight?
I have only been on one trip that involved an airplane. We took a plane from Greenville, South Carolina to Kansas City, Missouri, and then back home again.

I was scared totally to death as we were getting onto that plane. David had been on a plane before and wasn’t nervous until I got a hold of me. I was so nervous that I made him nervous. But, I took a window seat and it was awesome. I was so busy being in awe of the view that I forgot about being nervous. It was great! And, the ground from way up there looked just like it did in my social studies book way back in elementary school.

How many bones, if any, have you broken?
That is hard to say because I haven’t always gone to the ER when I’ve had suspected broken bones. When I was a little girl, I cracked my big toe. More specifically, one of my older cousins cracked it when she closed the car door on it. She didn’t mean to. We both thought that everybody was ready for the door to be closed. I did go to the ER for that one. Mama took me.
Since then, there have been many times that I was sure I had broken something, mostly toes. About two years ago, I fell twice in as many days in my kitchen and am pretty sure my tailbone was broken in one of those falls. I am forever falling or tripping or slipping. I’m beginning to think that 50 is just too old to be upright and walking!
If you had your own talk show, who would your first three guests be? (Guest can be dead, alive, famous or someone you just know)
Oh there are just too many to choose from! My grandparents are a given, but I’ll choose three others: Big Mama (my daddy’s paternal grandmother), Johnnie Cooper Roberts (David’s mother’s paternal grandmother), and Louisa Blecha Bushnell (David’s mother’s maternal grandmother).

Gunter_AnnieBlack_BigMama_web

Annie Black Gunter

Big Mama, Annie Black Gunter, raised my daddy and his brother and sister until she died. My paternal grandparents had a very rocky marriage and Papa’s mama stepped in and raised their children as best she could, for as long as she could. My daddy thought the sun rose and set in his Big Mama. My blog PS Annie! is named after her.

Roberts_EliasW_JohnnieCooper

Elias & Johnnie Roberts

 

Johnnie Cooper Roberts was David’s maternal grandfather’s mother. She died when her son was only about 8 months old from complications of childbirth. This was rural Texas in the 19-teens and doctors were few and far between. I wish that I could find out exactly what happened, but I haven’t been able to find out much at all about her aside from where she was born and died. I do have a photograph of her and her husband on their wedding day. His name was Elias Wallis Roberts.

 

Blecha_Lousia-Blecha-Bushnell

Louisa Blecha Bushnell

 

Louisa Blecha Bushnell was a first generation American on this family line. Her parents were born in Austria. She was born in Oak Valley, Kansas in 1879. She died in Needville, Texas in 1983, the year before David and I got married. I wish that I could have met her. Just imagine all of the stories that she could have told! When she was born, horse and buggy was the mode of transportation. By the time she died, we had the Concorde, the maiden voyage of the Space Shuttle Challenger, and Michael Jackson’s moonwalk. We had the launch of E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial and his famous line “E.T. phone home”….This woman outlived the original AT&T, y’all!
Make a Currently List: What are you reading, watching, listening to, eating, needing, wanting, and missing right now?
Reading: Oliphants in Scotland, edited by Joseph Anderson and appears to have been published in 1879. As it is over 500 pages long, this will probably take me a while to complete, but it promises to be an extremely interesting bit of reading.
Watching: I am watching David go through one of our boxes of photographs, trying to decide what to scan next. We have enough photographs, probably, to schedule Throwback Thursday for the next 30 years!
Listening to: I am listening to the hum of the fan.

Eating: Nothing at the moment, but soon to be a sandwich, most likely.

Needing: I am needing a lot more brain power than I currently have. Thinking is literally making my head hurt lately.

Wanting: I want to be able to gracefully accept changes, rather than go into freak mode when they come about.

Missing: I am missing my youngest son and daughter, our daddies, and grandparents. Our oldest daughter is here with us. 🙂

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
I am thankful for the food that we had and a husband that understands the fact that it is too hot to cook right now. So, he happily eats sandwiches and salads.

I am also thankful that David met his goal of completing all 30 posts ahead of time for the Word-High Challenge.

I can’t think of anything that I am specifically looking forward to in the week coming. Wait! I take that back. I am looking forward to completing my posts for the Word-High Challenge. I only have about a third of them done right now.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Cee's Share Your World, Share Your World. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cee’s Share Your World Challenge

  1. rosemawrites says:

    awwwwww. that touched my heart deeply, Suzanne! ❤ ❤ ❤ I am happy, more than happy, to know that you are looking forward to writing your takes on WordHighJuly! ❤

    And I looooove knowing more about you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this week. I really enjoyed reading about your past. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • celticmama36 says:

      Thank you. I am glad to have found this writing opportunity. I can’t remember the name of the blog that directed me to this challenge, but I’m glad to have found it. Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Like

  3. pilch92 says:

    Nice to learn more about you. That is a beautiful wedding photo, you are lucky to have so many family photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    • celticmama36 says:

      Thank you.

      Oh, yes! I think so, too. We are very blessed to have the photos that have been entrusted to us. It is one of the very few things that we have marking her life. I have one other photo of her with her husband. They were such a pretty couple. It is sad their life together ended so soon. She was only 23 years old when she died.

      Like

Leave a Reply

