Friendly Fill-Ins

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_Badge

WEEK 2: May 20, 2016

1. Everyone should read the Bible through at least once. Another reading adventure to have at least once in this lifetime is War and Peace, if for no other reason than to say that you did it.

2. My first school teacher was a big dummy. Maybe she wasn’t really a dummy, but that is what I called her on my first day of school. She *was* a meanie. I was scared and she popped me. That is why I marched up to her desk and said, “You big dummy!” That got me paddled. This did NOT make me less scared nor did it make me like her at all. I don’t remember anything at all about first grade other than that first day.

3. My favourite time of day is at night, because I am a night owl. I think better and am more productive at night.

4. I think dreams can come true. Often, though, it takes more than just dreaming them to make them come true. It takes effort, too. Dreams can also bring messages. It isn’t always easy to tell which dreams are message dreams and which dreams are just dreams. One can spend a lot of time fretting, trying to figure it out.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Friendly Fill-Ins. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. McGuffy Ann says:

    I love your answers! I was wondering if anyone would say to read the Bible! I have, and you are right. My first-grade teacher was mean, too. Mrs. Banko. She was 6′ tall and had bright red hair. She would not let us use the rest room by ourselves, only as a class. She also yelled at me for not coloring my milk bottle white; I argued that was already white on the paper! She was so mad at me because I would not back down. *grin* You are so right about dreams.And I am so glad that you joined us for Friendly Fill-Ins, Suzanne! Have a great weekend! Hugs!
    Annie at ~McGuffy’s Reader~

    Like

    • celticmama36 says:

      Thank you!

      Wow, Ms. Cromer (my first grade teacher) had bright red hair, too. I don’t know how tall she really was, but everyone has always been way taller than me, even now. She was probably only in her twenties or thirties, but to me she seemed like she was a hundred years old.
      I don’t think that I’ll ever understand teachers that argue with children about their way of creating art. That’s a sure way of discouraging creativity. Who could argue with your logic? If the paper was white, then why bother coloring it in? I’m glad that you didn’t back down. 🙂
      I enjoyed participating in Friday Fill-Ins and hope to do so each week. Have a blessed weekend and hugs to you, too. 🙂

      Like

  2. Reading the Bible all the way through is a wonderful experience, I have done it more than once! My sister also had a first grade teacher who was a meanie and it affected her confidence and feelings about school for the remainder of her years there. Nowadays parents would intervene more if their children let them know they were being treated unkindly. On the same note, parents need to make sure their children are behaving kindly and respectfully in school! I like night writing too, but I find that my writing is more positive earlier in the day, it tends to get darker at night, my writing I mean. :-). We do have to make a plan to make our dreams come true, they won’t happen if we just sit around waiting for them! Great answers, nice to meet you here!

    Like

    • celticmama36 says:

      Thank you! I’m glad to see you here, too.
      I agree with you; respect needs to work both ways. I’m sorry that your sister also had a meanie teacher for first grade. It really does color our experiences for the rest of school. Thankfully, I had some really great ones along the way, too. I hope that your sister and you did as well.
      I think that we learn a bit more and different things, too, each time that we read the Bible through. I enjoy it. Also, with my memory issues, parts of it are all new again each time we go through.
      I think that it is interesting that the time of day that you write affects how positive your writing is. I think, for me, events of the day affect it more than the time of day.
      Have a blessed weekend!

      Like

  3. pilch92 says:

    I enjoyed your answers except the one about your mean teacher. I am sorry you had to have such a bad experience. I did read The Bible once all the way from beginning to end, but never War and Peace.

    Like

    • celticmama36 says:

      Thank you. 🙂

      War and Peace was an interesting, but very confusing book. Tolstoy was not very consistent with what he called the characters throughout the book, so we were forever wondering who was who.

      I am sorry for the delay in my response to you. The morning of May 26, my husband suffered the first of what would end up being three strokes. He was in the hospital from Thursday morning until Monday afternoon.

      Have a blessed day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

