A to Z April Challenge: W is for Where…

…As in where I come from.

I was born on a hot August night in the mid-1960s in Anderson County, South Carolina. First born of a second born daddy and a fourth born mama with over three hundred years of family behind us. My daddy and my grandpa were born in the same hospital where I was born, where mine and David’s surviving children were born. My mama was the first of her mother’s children to be born in a hospital (in another county – Abbeville) due to complications during my grandma’s labor.

Anderson County is in the northwest corner of South Carolina where it borders with Georgia. Here are a couple of links to learn more about where I come from:

Visit Anderson
The hometown newspaper online is how I keep up with the news going on back home: Independent Mail

There are many songs out there about “back home”. This is one of my favorite.

This one isn’t about where I came from, but about where I belong, which is by David’s side for eternity, no matter our geographical location. So, with lots of love, here’s to you, David!

Where are you from? How far from “home” are you? Do you wish to go back?

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in A to Z April Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A to Z April Challenge: W is for Where…

  1. Kenny Chesney is from Knoxville, but I bet you knew this already, right? Both DH & I are from southern WV. Thankfully, it’s a relatively short drive (4-hrs) so we can visit whenever time permits. But, going back home is really never like being back at home. I do miss somewhat that feeling of being back at home as a kid. At least I have memories to warm my heart and make me smile. Lovely songs!

    Like

    • celticmama36 says:

      I knew that he was from Tennessee, but I didn’t remember which town. 🙂

      Thank you. Our youngest son shared the Aviators song with us. He has an awesome taste in music, I think.

      I’m glad that you have good memories that make you smile. I have a few myself, like being at my grandma’s and granny’s houses and spending the summer with my Aunt Mae. I often wish that I could just reach back in time and bring them here with me into the now.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I hope that you have a great week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

