A to Z April Challenge: G is for Gemstones

What are your favorite gemstones? What sparkly makes you drool at just the thought of having it?

They say that diamonds are a girl’s best friend, but that isn’t the case for this girl!

My favorites and the reasons why are as follows:

 

 

Emeralds

Emeralds are a beautiful green gemstone and they represent Ireland to me. It is often referred to as the Emerald Isle. But, even more important than that, the emerald is the birthstone of our youngest son.

Rubies

Rubies make me think of Dorothy’s shoes in The Wizard of Oz and “I want to go home”. Rubies are hot and fiery, full of passion. They are also the birthstone of our daughter Dorian who was born into Heaven.

Sapphires

Sapphires, a beautiful blue stone, represents our oldest son. All during my pregnancy, that is what we called him. I don’t remember at this point what started that nickname, but that is what we called him even though I knew I was carrying a son.

Please be sure to visit at my main blog, PS Annie! to find a variety of other posts, too!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in A to Z April Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A to Z April Challenge: G is for Gemstones

  1. I like sapphires, to look at and admire, because I’m told it’s the stone for people born in September … and because they are so beautiful.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

    Like

Leave a Reply

